The Writer’s Conference 2016

Standard

I just got back from the Philadelphia’s Writer’s Conference and I love every moment of it! I made friends, I learned more than writing books…and I learned that even though I write fanfiction, my regular manuscript is still good!  Speaking of manuscript….

73b

I ended up starting over the whole damn thing. So, when I submitted it, it was a second draft of a story that I ended up re-writing form the beginning and freaking out about how bad my plot was (see above).

So, this is supposed to be about the writer’s conference, right? Well…this is my second time going, and you know what I found out? Editors are not robots. Yeah…go figure, I wish knew that before in my first year.

care1012161500008308_011_640x360

They don’t hide out in a big spaceship and tell people how much they suck at their writing. Nope, they’re people like you and me. In fact, they often go out of their way to help you. One editor I met, (I won’t mention his name because he’s a newspaper editor and I don’t want his name to be out there without his permission) wore a suit and was very direct on the first day, but was complete opposite on the second day. He told me it was Saturday and he wasn’t required to wear a suit. Huh..go figure, just like most days when they make us dress up even though it’s a call center.

Anyway, if you didn’t go the Philadelphia’s Writer’s Conference in Philly, you should go next year. It was really fun this year, considering that this was the first time I entered part of a manuscript…and I was completely out of my mind about it.

peridot-breakdown

But, it was okay! I got my draft back with a crapload of grammatical errors. Which, I expected because part of this I write at work on a notebook and go home, type of the paper really quickly and go back to sleep.

All in all, good times! By the way, I’m back on my blogging grind! I’ll post in a few days after recuperating from my writer’s block and Undertale having Asgore beat the crap out of me. If you haven’t listened to this soundtrack do so…Toby Fox, you have given me musical inspiration!

Closing out with the song that’s haunting me from Agore beating me up:

 

Leave a Reply

